2019 National Philanthropy Day Celebration










National Philanthropy Day Honorees
Back row
Karen Buchwald Wright, Joe Chlapaty, Andrew Levitt, Abraham Alexander, Chris Hawker, Sommer Renaldo, Donna Zuiderweg, Phil Derrow, Barb Derrow
Front rowKiernan Welch, Ford Cowan, Claire Sapp, Miles Goldman, Randi Lewis, Teresa McWain

(Columbus, Ohio) – More than 600 of Columbus’ most philanthropic-minded individuals came together on Tuesday November 26th, 2019 for the Association of Fundraising Professionals Central Ohio Chapter’s National Philanthropy Day recognizing extraordinary generosity, selflessness, innovation and leadership in giving, volunteering and engagement.

The annual event, celebrating its 27th anniversary year in Central Ohio, honored those who have significantly impacted the community through their volunteer and philanthropic efforts with a celebratory lunch and awards ceremony at the Hilton Columbus. The National Philanthropy Day luncheon was emceed by NBC4 anchor, Matt Barnes, and AFP Central Ohio Board President, Laura Baker of WOSU Public Media and is reflective of the philanthropic spirit that characterizes Central Ohio.

“Our honorees are making tremendous investments and impact to uplift our community, and they are doing so despite challenges in the economy,” said Laura Baker, President, AFP Central Ohio. “We salute their efforts to change our world for the better and applaud their selfless giving.”

The 27th annual award honorees recognized were:

        • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser- Andrew Levitt
        • Outstanding Small Corporation – Next Level Trainings
        • Outstanding Volunteer Fundraising Group – Franklin Park Conservatory Women’s Board
        • Leave a Legacy Award (Presented by the Charitable Gift Planners of Central Ohio) – Joe Chlapaty
        • Big Lots Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy Award – Bexley Sleep Out
        • Outstanding Foundation – Ariel Foundation
        • Outstanding Professional Fundraiser – Donna Zuiderweg
        • Outstanding Large Corporation – American Electric Power
        • The Columbus Foundation Outstanding Philanthropist Award – Philip and Barbara Derrow

Mr. Barnes and Ms. Baker recognized the sponsors who invested in the event, supporting the celebration and Association of Fundraising Professionals Central Ohio Chapter, including: Big Lots Foundation, The Columbus Foundation, AEP Founation, PNC Bank, Cardinal Health, Cramer & Associates, Grange Insurance, Lbrands Foundation, Mollard Consulting, Nationwide Insurance, OhioHealth, Sophisticated Living, The Ohio State University Office of Advancement, The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center, and UBS/Grové Parks Hegarty Wealth Advisors, as well as more than two dozen table sponsors.

“Philanthropy in Central Ohio remains strong and ongoing,” said Mary Beth McNamee, chair of National Philanthropy Day 2019. “We are lucky to live in a community that supports all types of wonderful organizations – from the arts, to education, to social services and everything in between.”

Information regarding Association of Fundraising Professionals Central Ohio, a full sponsorship listing, and additional pictures can be found at centralohioafp.org/national-philanthropy-day or by contacting [email protected].

The Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) represents 37,000 members in 186 chapters throughout the United States, Canada, Mexico, Puerto Rico and China working to advance philanthropy through advocacy, research, education, and certification programs. The Central Ohio Chapter of AFP has more than 400 members from 85 nonprofits, consulting firms and corporations in Central Ohio.